Category: GENERAL-NEWS  * 
Posted by:  Fr. Mark
 *  Published on: 01/14/15

Scholarship Information for the Dr. Helene Tzitsikas Scholarship

The applications forms for the Dr. Helene Tzitsikas Scholarship are available now on the Parish Council page of the website, within the Parish Groups and Ministries menu.  Look in the lower left side of the Parish Council page for links to downloadable PDFs.

Dr. Helene Tzitsikas Scholarship Fund


Prepared by: Hiram Fitzgerald

In the spring of 2013, the Parish Council was informed that Dr. Helene Tzitsikas of blessed memory had bequeathed fifty thousand dollars to our community in support of scholarship initiatives.  The Parish Council created the Helene Tzitsikas Scholarship Committee and charged it to manage the scholarship award process.  Each year Holy Trinity will award scholarships based on the interest generated from the funds, expected to be 5%.  The funds are invested at the Capital Region Community Foundation. 

Applications can be made in either of two categories: Individual scholarships for middle or high school students who are seeking advanced educational experiences, and individuals or groups seeking support for a programmatic activity that will advance education for more than one individual.  All forms are available at the Church office.

Application materials should be sent by email to and also by regular mail to:

Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Church

Tzitsikas Scholarship Committee

1701 E. Saginaw Street

Lansing, MI 48912

Timelines for submission

                Submission Due Date:            March 1, 2016 (late applications are not accepted)
                Reviews Completed:               April 1, 2016
                Number of Copies:                  1 electronic copy; 1 hard copy
                Scholarship Awards Announced:           May

2014 Recipients:

Alexander Krantz     First Year Student, Michigan State University
Andrea Krantz         Senior, University of Kentucky

2015 Recipients:

Dylan Gray              First Year Student, University of Nebraska
Erica Krantz            Graduate Student, University of Kentucky

Award Committee

George Mansour (chair)
George Lafkas
Elaine Christofilis
Karen Colovos
Mary Brown

# # #